July 28th – On This Day In Wrestling History

Alex Wright
Credit: WWE

1995 – In Middletown, New York Eddie Guerrero regained the ECW World Television Championship with a victory over Dean Malenko. On the same show, Rick and Scott, The Steiner Brothers, made their ECW debut with a win over The Vampire Warrior (Gangrel) and Dudley Dudley.

1997 – Alex Wright defeated Chris Jericho to win the WCW Cruiserweight Championship on an episode of Monday Nitro from Charleston, West Virginia.

2003 – Molly Holly won the WWE Women’s Championship from Gail Kim on an episode of Raw taking place in Colorado Springs, Colorado.

2004 – During an Ultimate X match taped for an NWA-TNA weekly PPV in Nashville, Tennessee, Michael Shane and Frankie Kazarian were declared co-holders of the X-Division Championship. The situation came about when both men grabbed the belt at the same time at the conclusion of the match also featuring reigning champion AJ Styles.

2007 – Karl Gotch passed away at the age of 82 in Tampa, Florida.

2008 – WWE Saturday Night’s Main Event taping took place at the Verizon Center in Washington, DC. In the main event Edge defeated Jeff Hardy. On the same evening, Mike Adamle was named as the general manager of Raw on a taping for that programme – the first WWE presented under the TV PG audience rating.

2010 – Dolph Ziggler defeated Kofi Kingston at a SmackDown taping in Laredo, Texas to win the WWE Intercontinental Championship.

2013 – The PROGRESS Wrestling Progress title changed hands for only the second time when Rampage Brown defeated El Ligero at ‘Chapter 8: The Big Boy’s Guide to Strong Style’ at The Garage in Islington, London, UK.

2015 – Two championships changed hands at a TNA Impact Wrestling taping in Orlando Florida. Firstly, Brian Myers and Trevor Lee snared the TNA World Tag Team Championship in a match with The Wolves (Eddie Edwards and Davey Richards). Also, Bobby Roode defeated P.J Black to win the TNA King Of The Mountain Championship.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Xia Li (1998)
  • Noam Dar (1993)
  • Lioness Asuka (1963)
  • ‘Mr. Wrestling’ Tim Woods (1934)
  • Baron Mikel Scicluna (1929)