July 26th – On This Day In Wrestling History

Seth Rollins
Credit: WWE

1986 – Dusty Rhodes won the last of his three NWA World Championships when he beat Ric Flair in a steel cage match in Greensboro, North Carolina. Flair won win the belt back two weeks later.

1998 – WWF Fully Loaded: In Your House took place from the Selland Arena in Fresno, California. In the main event, ‘Stone Cold’ Steve Austin and The Undertaker defeated Kane and Mankind to win the WWF Tag Team Championship.

1999 – On an episode of Raw Is War from Columbus, Ohio, European Champion D’Lo Brown defeated Intercontinental Champion Jeff Jarrett to win Jarrett’s title in a match with both belts on the line.

2003 – Pro Wrestling Guerilla held its first ever event in City Of Industry, California. In the main event, AJ Styles defeated Frankie Kazarian.

2004 – On an episode of WWE Raw in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Chris Benoit retained the World Heavyweight Championship against Triple H in a 60 minute Iron Man match. He won the match 4-3. On the same show, Randy Orton won a 20 man battle royal to win a shot at Benoit’s title at SummerSlam, a match he would ultimately win to claim his first world championship.

2009 – WWE presented their ‘Night Of Champions’ PPV at the Wachovia Center in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. In the main event, Jeff Hardy defeated CM Punk to win back the WWE World Heavyweight Championship. Earlier in the night Mickie James defeated Maryse for the WWE Divas Championship and Christian won the ECW Championship from Tommy Dreamer.

2010 – On Mondy Night Raw in San Antonio, Texas, Nexus (Wade Barrett, Skip Sheffield, Darren Young, David Otunga, Heath Slater, Justin Gabriel and Michael Tarver) won a 14 man tag team elimination match against Jerry Lawler, Yoshi Tatsu, David Hart Smith, Tyson Kidd, Mark Henry, Evan Bourne and Goldust.

2012 – At an NXT taping at Full Sail University in Winter Park, Florida the tournament to crown the first ever NXT Champion concluded. In that match, Seth Rollins defeated Jinder Mahal to claim the title.

2015 – Progress Wrestling presented ‘Chapter 20: Thunderbastard: Beyond Thunderbastard’ from the Electric Ballroom in Brixton, London. In the main event Will Ospreay defeated Jimmy Havoc in a no disqualification match to win the Progress title.

Notable Wrestling Birthdays:

  • Tessa Blanchard (1995)
  • Marty Scurll (1988)
  • Roderick Strong (1983)
  • Tommy Rich (1956)